← Back

Photo: Karl-Heinz Wolff

History

Founded in 1963, the Bonner Kunstverein has a long tradition of hosting significant and acclaimed exhibitions of contemporary art. These have included significant solo exhibitions by Anselm Kiefer (1977), Hanne Darboven (1982), Dieter Roth (1983), Christian Boltanski (1984), Annette Messager, Nancy Spero (1990), Thomas Ruff, Ida Applebroog (1991), Giulio Paolini, Kiki Smith, Katharina Sieverding, Alighiero e Boetti (1992), Marlene Dumas (1993), Heimo Zobernig (1998), John Bock (2001), Friedrich Kunath (2002), Gregor Schneider (2006), Anne Collier, Ryan Gander (2008), Christopher Williams (2009), Ed Atkins, Charline von Heyl (2012) and Jana Euler (2014).

The Kunstverein moved to its current premises in the northern quarter of the city of Bonn in January 1987. A former flower market, the building dates from 1974 and was converted by the award winning architects Haus–Rucker–Co. Further additions to the building were commissioned from Marie-Céline Schäfer and Karsten Weber (rheinflügel) in 2007. This improved access to the Kunstverein’s Artothek collection and saw the creation of a café and 700 square metre exhibition hall.

The Kunstverein’s Peter Mertes Stipendium has been awarded annually to two artists since 1985. The Kinderprogramm has been running since the 1970’s and our Artothek collection dates from 1987. The Atelierhaus became part of the Kunstverein in 2004.

Our current exhibition programme builds upon the institution’s reputation for producing new works and exhibitions by internationally prominent artists and survey exhibitions that highlight current concerns in artistic production.

← Back

Photo: Karl-Heinz Wolff

Geschichte

1963 gegründet blickt der Bonner Kunstverein auf eine lange Tradition bedeutender und vielbeachteter Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst zurück. Dazu zählen wichtige Einzelausstellungen von Anselm Kiefer (1977), Hanne Darboven (1982), Dieter Roth (1983), Christian Boltanski (1984), Annette Messager, Nancy Spero (1990), Thomas Ruff, Ida Applebroog (1991), Giulio Paolini, Kiki Smith, Katharina Sieverding, Alighiero e Boetti (1992), Marlene Dumas (1993), Heimo Zobernig (1998), John Bock (2001), Friedrich Kunath (2002), Gregor Schneider (2006), Anne Collier, Ryan Gander (2008), Christopher Williams (2009), Ed Atkins, Charline von Heyl (2012) und Jana Euler (2014).

Seine derzeitigen Räumlichkeiten im Bonner Norden bezog der Kunstverein im Januar 1987. Das Gebäude, eine ehemalige Blumenmarkthalle, stammt aus dem Jahr 1974 und wurde von den preisgekrönten Architekten Haus-Rucker-Co umgebaut. Eine weitere Umgestaltung erfuhr das Gebäude 2007 durch Marie-Céline Schäfer und Karsten Weber (rheinflügel). Diese bewirkte eine bessere Zugänglichkeit der Sammlung der Artothek des Bonner Kunstvereins, die Einrichtung eines Cafés sowie einer Ausstellungshalle von 700m².

Seit 1985 vergibt der Kunstverein das Peter Mertes Stipendium an zwei Künstler. Ein Kinderprogramm gehört seit den 1970er Jahren zu den Aktivitäten des Kunstvereins. Die Sammlung der Artothek wurde 1987 angelegt, und seit 2004 verwaltet der Kunstverein ein Atelierhaus.

Das aktuelle Ausstellungsprogramm baut auf den Ruf der Institution auf, neue Werke und Ausstellungen international herausragender Künstler sowie Überblicksausstellungen zu aktuellen künstlerischen Fragestellungen hervorzubringen.