← Back

Exhibition opening Nick Relph

Nick Relph

25 April – 25 June 2017

Nick Relph’s photography, sculpture, installation and video draw diversely upon popular culture, referencing images from advertising, fashion music and art. His layered works often involve both digital and analogue media as images are reprocessed from one format to another, occasionally dissolving into abstraction.

This exhibition presents a series of video collages, including two new, commissioned works. ‘What’s Going On Here’ (2017) employs images appropriated from hoardings erected around construction sites in the city of New York. Captured using a portable, hand-held scanner, the distorted, dirt and graffiti laden architectural renderings appear as fragmentary details of a city that is being intensively redesigned and rebuilt.

‘Corrupt Punk Composite’ (2017) revisits material from an earlier video entitled ‘The Punk and Her Music’ (2010). The film collages footage that Relph recorded recently in London with sound and imagery from other sources including 1980’s French and Japanese television documentaries about Punk subculture in the UK.

These two films are shown together with ‘Jazz Hands’(2011). Composed entirely of still images, the work splices together imagery from the pages of two monographic books, one about the artist Isa Genzken, the other focusing on the life and work of the fashion designer, Ralph Lauren. The film’s soundtrack was recorded in the 1970’s by the French ornithologist Jean-Claude Roché and features bird calls that are rumoured to have been embellished with other sound effects.

The exhibition is Relph’s first solo exhibition in Germany. It is generously supported by the Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen and the exhibition opening is sponsored by Bönnsch and Reverchon.

Please note that the exhibition contains flashing images.

Nick Relph (b. 1979, London) studied at Kingston University, London. Solo exhibitions of his work have been presented at Aspen Art Museum (2014); Chisenhale, London (2013); Tate Britain, London (2012); Serpentine Gallery, London (with Oliver Payne, 2005); Kunsthalle Zurich, the National Museum of Contemporary Art Oslo and the British School in Rome (with Oliver Payne, 2004). His work has been presented within significant surveys including ‘Greater New York’ MoMA PS1, New York (2015); the 54th Venice Biennale (2011); Yokohama Biennale (with Oliver Payne, 2008) and the Tate Triennial (with Oliver Payne, 2006). In 2003 he and Oliver Payne were awarded the Golden Lion for an artist under 35 years of age at the 50th Venice Biennale. His work is held in several public collections including the Whitney Museum and Museum of Modern Art in New York; The National Museum of Contemporary Art, Oslo; Centre Pompidou, Paris; the Tate in London and the Arts Council Collection in the UK.

← Back

Eröffnung der Ausstellung Nick Relph

Nick Relph

25. April – 25. Juni 2017

Relphs Fotografien, Skulpturen, Installationen und Videos nehmen oftmals Bezug auf die Popkultur. Sie verweisen auf Bilder aus Werbung, Mode, Musik und Kunst. Für seine vielschichtigen Arbeiten nutzt Relph bei der Nachbearbeitung oft unterschiedliche analoge und digitale Techniken, woraus sich gelegentlich ein Abstraktionsprozess ergibt.

Die Ausstellung setzt sich aus einer Reihe von Videocollagen zusammen – darunter zwei neue Auftragsarbeiten. Für ‘What’s Going On Here’ (2017) verwendet Relph Bilder, die von Plakatwänden stammen, die um Baustellen in New York gestellt werden. Der Künstler hat die von Dreck und Graffiti bedeckten Architekturrenderings mithilfe eines tragbaren Handscanners eingefangen. Sie muten als fragmentarische Details einer Stadt an, die intensiv umgestaltet und -gebaut wird.

‘Corrupt Punk Composite’ (2017) greift das Material eines früheren Videos mit dem Titel ‘The Punk and Her Music’ (2010) auf. Der Film collagiert Aufnahmen, die Relph in London kürzlich gemacht hat, mit Ton und Bildern aus anderen Quellen wie französischen und japanischen Fernsehdokumentationen über die Punk-Subkultur der 1980er Jahre in Großbritannien.

Zusätzlich zu diesen beiden Filmen wird der Film ‘Jazz Hands’(2011) in der Ausstellung gezeigt, der gänzlich aus Standbildern besteht. Er setzt die Abbildungen zweier Bücher – eine Monografie über Isa Genzken und eine über das Leben und Werk des Modedesigners Ralph Lauren – miteinander in Beziehung. Der Soundtrack des Films wurde in den 1970er Jahren von dem französischen Ornithologen Jean-Claude Roché aufgenommen. Gerüchten zufolge wurden die Vogelstimmen mit weiteren Soundeffekten untermalt.

Die Ausstellung im Bonner Kunstverein ist Relphs erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland. Sie wird großzügig vom Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen gefördert. Die Ausstellungseröffnung wird von den Firmen Bönnsch and Reverchon gesponsert.

Nick Relph (*1979, London) studierte an der Kingston University in London. Einzelausstellungen seiner Arbeit wurden in folgenden Institutionen gezeigt: Aspen Art Museum (2014); Chisenhale, London (2013); Tate Britain, London (2012); Serpentine Gallery, London (mit Oliver Payne, 2005); Kunsthalle Zürich, National Museum of Contemporary Art Oslo und British School in Rom (mit Oliver Payne, 2004). Relphs Arbeit wurde außerdem in bedeutenden Übersichtsausstellungen präsentiert, darunter ‘Greater New York’ MoMA PS1, New York (2015); die 54. Biennale von Venedig (2011); Yokohama Biennale (mit Oliver Payne, 2008) und die Tate Triennale (mit Oliver Payne, 2006). 2003 wurde ihm und Oliver Payne aus Anlass der 50. Biennale von Venedig der Goldene Löwen für KünstlerInnen unter 35 Jahren verliehen. Seine Arbeiten sind in zahlreichen Sammlungen vertreten, darunter das Whitney Museum und das Museum of Modern Art in New York; das National Museum of Contemporary Art, Oslo; Centre Pompidou, Paris; die Tate Modern in London und die Arts Council Collection in Großbritannien.