← Back

Ella Kruglyanskaya, It Works on Paper, installation view, 2018, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy the artists and Gavin Brown's Enterprise, New York/Rome. Foto: Mareike Tocha

Maler*innen: Panel Discussion

Panel Discussion with Carolin Eidner, Magdalena Kita, Luise Pilz and Jana Schröder

Saturday, 10 November, 12pm

Bonner Kunstverein invites you to attend ‘Maler*innen’, a panel discussion organised on the occasion of Ella Kruglyanskaya’s solo exhibition ‘It Works on Paper’. Kruglyanskaya’s work deals playfully and humorously with the history of female iconography and the role of the female painter.

In an interview she explained: “I can’t really separate my position as an artist from my position as a woman in the world today. I feel like now there’s a lot of really strong women in art and painting and I just wonder if it has to do with the fact that those places [for women] were not carved before…“ (Ella Kruglyanskaya, 2018)

Developed in cooperation with And She Was Like: BÄM! the event will bring together a select group of prominent artists from the Rhineland. The conversation with the painters Carolin Eidner (b. 1984, Berlin) Magdalena Kita (b. 1983, Debica, PL), Jana Schröder(b. 1983, Brilon) and Luise Pilz (b. 1983, Freiberg) from And She Was Like: BÄM! takes their diverse artistic practises as a starting point. The invited artists will discuss how they position themselves within traditions of abstract and representational painting. To what extent is “being a woman” important for their work at all?

The conversation will be in German.

Carolin Eidner(b. 1984, Berlin) studied at the Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf and was a master student of Rosemarie Trockel. She has held solo exhibitions at the Langen Foundation, Neuss and the Artothek Raum für junge Kunst, Cologne (2017). Her works have also been exhibited at the Bundeskunsthalle Bonn (2015); Centre for Contemporary Culture, Maastricht; Kunstverein Duisburg (2014) and Kunsthalle Baselland, Basel (2013). Her work is part of the collection of the Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich. She lives and works in Düsseldorf.

Magdalena Kita(b. 1983, Debica, PL) studied at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf and was a master student of Rita McBride. Her works have been exhibited at the Museum Van Bommel Van Dam, Venlo, the Moscow Museum of Modern Art (2017); Bruch & Dallas, Cologne (2013); Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach (2012) and KIT, Düsseldorf (2011). She lives and works in Cologne.

Jana Schröder(b. 1983, Brilon) studied under Albert Oehlen at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. She has held a solo exhibition at the Kunstverein (Reutlingen). Her works has been exhibited at the Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich (2016); at the Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2015) and at KIT, Düsseldorf (2011). She lives and works in Düsseldorf.

Luise Pilz(born 1983, Freiberg) is an art historian, editor and author. She is co-founder of And She Was Like: BÄM!, an initiative by young women working in art and design in the Rhineland. She lives and works in Berlin and NRW.

Image: Ella Kruglyanskaya, Over und Under with Cut outs, 2018. Courtesy of the artist and Gavin Brown’s Enterprise, New York. Foto: Mareike Tocha.

← Back

Ella Kruglyanskaya, It Works on Paper, Installationsansicht, 2018, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Gavin Brown's Enterprise, New York/Rome. Foto: Mareike Tocha

Maler*innen: Roundtable

Roundtable mit Carolin Eidner, Magdalena Kita, Luise Pilz und Jana Schröder

Samstag, 10. November, 12 Uhr

Der Bonner Kunstverein lädt Sie herzlich zum Roundtable ‚Maler*innen‘ anlässlich Ella Kruglyanskayas Einzelausstellung ‚It Works on Paper‘ ein. Kruglyanskayas Werk setzt sich spielerisch und humorvoll mit der Geschichte der weiblichen Ikonographie und der Rolle der Malerin auseinander.

So formuliert Kruglyanskaya selbst: „Ich kann meine Stellung als Künstlerin nicht getrennt von meiner Stellung als Frau in der heutigen Welt denken. Ich habe das Gefühl, es gibt heute eine große Anzahl an sehr starken Frauen in der Kunst und in der Malerei und ich frage mich, ob es damit zu tun hat, dass diese Orte (für Frauen) nicht so stark vorgeprägt sind.“ (Ella Kruglyanskaya, 2018)

In Kooperation mit And She Was Like: BÄM! widmet sich der Roundtable einer jungen Generation von Künstlerinnen aus dem Rheinland. Das Gespräch mit Carolin Eidner (geb. 1984, Berlin) Magdalena Kita (geb. 1983, Debica, PL), Jana Schröder (geb. 1983, Brillon) und Luise Pilz (geb. 1983, Freiberg) von And She Was Like: BÄM! nimmt ihre diversen künstlerischen Ansätze zum Ausgangspunkt. Wie verorten sich die einzelnen Positionen in der Malereigeschichte, zwischen Figuration und Abstraktion? Inwiefern ist das „Frausein“ überhaupt von Bedeutung für ihr Werk?

Carolin Eidner (geb. 1984, Berlin) studierte an der Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf und war Meisterschülerin von Rosemarie Trockel. Ihr waren unter anderen Einzelausstellungen in der Langen Foundation, Neuss und der Artothek Raum für junge Kunst, Köln (2017) gewidmet. Ihre Arbeiten wurden außerdem in der Bundeskunsthalle Bonn (2015); Centre for Contemporary Culture, Maastricht; Kunstverein Duisburg (2014) und Kunsthalle Baselland, Basel (2013) gezeigt. Ihr Werk ist Teil der Sammlung der Pinakothek der Moderne, München. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf.

Magdalena Kita (geb. 1983, Debica, PL) studierte an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf und war Meisterschülerin von Rita McBride. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderen im Museum Van Bommel Van Dam, Venlo, im Moscow Museum of Modern Art (2017); Bruch & Dallas, Köln (2013); Museum Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach (2012) und im KIT, Düsseldorf (2011) gezeigt. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Köln.

Jana Schröder (geb. 1983, Brilon) studierte unter Albert Oehlen an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Ihr war unter anderen eine Einzelausstellung im Kunstverein Reutlingen (2017) gewidmet. Ihre Arbeiten wurden außerdem in der Pinakothek der Moderne, München (2016); in der Bundeskunsthalle, Bonn (2015) und im KIT, Düsseldorf (2011) gezeigt. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf.

Luise Pilz (geb. 1983, Freiberg) ist Kunsthistorikerin, Redakteurin und Autorin. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von And She Was Like: BÄM!, eine Initiative junger Frauen aus Kunst und Design im Rheinland. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und NRW.