← Back
1/8

Aleksandra Domanović, Things to Come, 2014, installation view, 2015, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy of the artist and Tanya Leighton, Berlin. Photo: Simon Vogel

ARS VIVA

Aleksandra Domanović, Yngve Holen, James Richards

As one of the institutions with the richest tradition within the entrepreneurial promotion of culture in Germany, the Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V. has been granting the ars viva Prize to young visual artists living in Germany since 1953. Bonner Kunstverein shows in an exclusive for Bonn new conceived exhibition this year’s ars viva awardees: Aleksandra Domanović, Yngve Holen and James Richards.

For Aleksandra Domanović (b. 1981, Novi Sad, Serbia; lives and works in Berlin), electronic and digital media are simultaneously topic and tool. In her sculptures and videos, she analyzes how the internet and technological innovations have shaped her social environment and have molded the history of her native former Yugoslavia. Science fiction and media history from a feminist perspective are further topics that play a central role within her work. In his films, James Richards (b. 1983, Cardiff, Wales; lives and works in Berlin) uses appropriated material — from anonymous internet finds to old collected VHS tapes — alongside his own video and sound recordings. Just like a painter with his pigments, he configures items from his abundant material archive into a developed narrative composition, focusing on rhythm and texture, flow of images and colors, and atmospheric moods. In this sensual and associative narrative, he searches for images evoking memories and emotions. Digitization, laser scanning, CAD, CNC systems and 3D printing are techniques that YNGVE HOLEN (b. 1982 Braunschweig; lives and works in Berlin) utilizes in the creation of his works. Combined or associated with other readymade objects like washing machines or model aircrafts, he creates sculptural arrangements that maintain a hyperrealist aesthetic. In his application of new technologies alongside unexpected combinations of form and material— for example, a replica of a raw piece of meat carved from a marble block by the help of a 3D scan — Holen opens up a reflection of everyday visual codes.

Following its presentation at the Bonner Kunstverein, the exhibition of the ars viva Prize of the Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V. will be presented in modified form at the Grazer Kunstverein (13 June to 2 August 2015). The exhibition is accompanied by a catalog, as well as by an artist’s edition portfolio (limited to an edition of 20 + 3 AP) consisting of one work each by Aleksandra Domanović, Yngve Holen and James Richards.

← Back
1/8

Aleksandra Domanović, Things to Come, 2014, Installationsansicht, 2015, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Tanya Leighton, Berlin. Photo: Simon Vogel

ARS VIVA

Aleksandra Domanović, Yngve Holen, James Richards

Als eine der traditionsreichsten Institutionen für unternehmerische Kulturförderung in Deutschland vergibt der Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e. V. bereits seit 1953 jährlich den ars viva-Preis an junge, in Deutschland lebende bildende Künstler. Der Bonner Kunstverein zeigt in einer exklusiv für Bonn neu konzipierten Ausstellung die diesjährigen ars viva-Preisträger Aleksandra Domanović, Yngve Holen und James Richards.

Für Aleksandra Domanović (*1981 in Novi Sad, Serbien, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) sind die elektronischen und digitalen Medien zugleich Thema und Werkzeug. Sie untersucht mit ihren Skulpturen und Videos, wie das Internet und technologische Innovationen ihr soziales Umfeld geformt und die Geschichte ihres Herkunftslandes, das frühere Jugoslawien, geprägt haben. Science-Fiction oder Mediengeschichte aus feministischer Perspektive sind weitere Themen, die in ihren Arbeiten eine zentrale Rolle spielen. James Richards (*1983 in Cardiff, Wales, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) bedient sich für seine Filme sowohl bei anonymen, im Internet gefundenen Materialien sowie alten gesammelten VHS-Kassetten, als auch bei selbst angefertigten Video- und Tonaufnahmen. Wie ein Maler mit seinen Farben probiert er mit seinem Materialfundus verschiedene Zusammenstellungen aus, bis die narrative Komposition steht. Dabei konzentriert er sich auf Rhythmus und Textur, Fluss von Bildern und Farben und atmosphärische Stimmungen. In dieser sinnlichen und assoziativen Erzählung sucht er nach Bildern, die Erinnerungen und Emotionen wecken. Digitalisieren, Laserabtasten, CAD, CNC-Systeme, 3D-Druck sind Techniken, die Yngve Holen (*1982 in Braunschweig, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) anwendet, um seine Arbeiten anzufertigen. Assoziiert mit anderen Readymade-Objekten wie Waschmaschinen oder Modellflugzeugen schafft er skulpturale Arrangements, die eine hyperrealistische Ästhetik behaupten. Durch die Anwendung neuer Technologien und die Mischung von Form und Material in unerwarteter Art, wie z. B. das Imitat eines rohen Stückes Fleisch, das mit Hilfe eines 3D-Scans aus einem Marmorblock gefräst wurde, öffnet er eine Reflexion über die visuelle Codierung unseres Alltags.

Die ars viva-Ausstellung der Preisträger Bildende Kunst des Kulturkreises der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e. V. wird nach dem Bonner Kunstverein in abgewandelter Form im Grazer Kunstverein (13. Juni bis 2. August 2015) präsentiert. Dazu ist ein Katalog erschienen, sowie eine Künstler-Edition in einer limitierten Auflage von 20 Exemplaren (+3 AP), bestehend aus jeweils einer Arbeit von Aleksandra Domanović, Yngve Holen und James Richards.