← Back
1/8

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, ‘Camshafts in the Rain’, 2016, commissioned by Bonner Kunstverein, courtesy the artist and Sadie Coles HQ, London. Photo: Simon Vogel

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd: Camshafts in the Rain

‘Camshafts in the Rain’ is a new work that draws upon the history of automata and the use of clockwork mechanisms to animate public space. Chetwynd’s exhibition will see the gallery collaged with photocopied imagery to resemble a scaled-up version of the miniature paper theatres that were popular amongst children in the 19th century. Conceived as a ‘loop of continuous action’, Chetwynd’s installation will place visitors inside the performance space. Visitors will encounter a succession of paper proscenium arches and a series of ‘automaton’ – sculptures that will also feature in the performances scheduled during the exhibition.

Chetwynd’s new performance will combine live action, music and puppetry and is developed in reference to a broad range of cinematic sources including Jan Svankmajer’s Punch and Judy (1966) and the biorobotic characters that feature in science fiction films such as ‘The Stepford Wives’ (1975) and ‘Blade Runner’ (1982). Other references include Jean Cocteau’s film ‘La Belle et la Bête’ (1946) and the choreography of mechanical dolls in Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger’s ‘Tales of Hoffman’(1951) and Federico Fellini’s ‘Casanova’ (1976).

This is Chetwynd’s first solo exhibition in a public institution in Germany.

The exhibition is generously supported by Kunststiftung NRW with additional support from Sadie Coles HQ, London. It will be accompanied by a major new publication on her work.

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd (b. 1973, London), formerly known as Spartacus Chetwynd, lives and works in Glasgow. She has previously held solo exhibitions at Studio Voltaire, London, Nottingham Contemporary (both 2014); the New Museum, New York (2011); Le Consortium, Dijon (2008) and Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich (2007). Her work has been presented within significant surveys including ‘Performa 13’, New York (2013); 3rd Thessaloniki Biennial (2011); the British Art Show 7, Hayward Gallery, London (2010) and ‘Altermodern’, Tate Britain, London (2009). She was shortlisted for the Turner Prize in 2012.

← Back
1/7

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, ‘Camshafts in the Rain’, 2016, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy die Künstlerin und Sadie Coles HQ, London. Photo: Simon Vogel

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd: Camshafts in the Rain

„Camshafts in the Rain“ ist eine neue Arbeit, die Anregungen aus der Geschichte des Automaten und des Uhrwerks aufnimmt, um den öffentlichen Raum zu animieren. Für Chetwynds Ausstellung mit Fotokopiecollagen verkleidet, wird die Ausstellunghalle eine vergrößerte Version der Miniatur-Papiertheater nachbilden, die im 19. Jahrhundert als beliebtes Spielzeug verbreitet waren. Erdacht als ein „Loop kontinuierlicher Aktion“ wird Chetwynds Installation die Besucher in den Raum der Performance platzieren. Die Besucher stoßen auf eine Reihe von Bühnenbögen aus Papier und Automaten-Skulpturen, die auch in den Performances während der Ausstellung eine Rolle spielen.

Chetwynds neue Performance wird live Aktion, Musik und Puppentheater verbinden und ist angelehnt an eine breitgefächerte Palette filmischer Quellen inklusive Jan Svankmajers „Punch and Judy“ (1966) und den anthropomorphen Robotern, die in Science-Fiction-Filmen wie „Die Frauen von Stepford“ (1975) und „Blade Runner“ (1982) auftreten. Zu den Referenzen zählen auch Jean Cocteaus Film „La Belle et la Bête“ (1946) und die Choreographie mechanischer Puppen in „Hoffmanns Erzählungen“ von Michael Powell und Emeric Pressburger (1951) sowie Federico Fellinis „Casanova“ (1976).

Dies ist Chetwynds erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung in Deutschland.

Die Ausstellung wird großzügig gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW sowie Sadie Coles HQ, London, und wird begleitet von einer größeren neuen Publikation über ihr Werk.

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd (geb. 1973, London), früher bekannt als Spartacus Chetwynd, lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow. Sie hatte bereits Einzelausstellungen im Studio Voltaire, London, Nottingham Contemporary, Nottingham (beide 2014), The New Museum, New York (2011), Le Consortium, Dijon (2008) und im Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich (2007). Ihre Arbeiten wurden in bedeutenden Übersichtsausstellungen, einschließlich der „Performa 13“, New York (2013), der 3. Thessaloniki Biennale, Thessaloniki (2011), The British Art Show 7, Hayward Gallery, London (2010), und „Altermodern“, Tate Britain, London (2009), präsentiert. Chetwynd wurde im Jahr 2012 für den Turner Prize der Tate Britain, London, nominiert.