← Back
1/10

Maryanne Amacher, installation view, 2014, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Simon Vogel

Maryanne Amacher: Intelligent Life

The exhibition presents the work of American composer and artist Maryanne Amacher (1938-2009). Amacher studied in the 1960s with Karlheinz Stockhausen and, in the 1970s and 1980s, she worked together with John Cage and Merce Cunningham. She was also a fellow at the Center for Advanced Visual Studies at MIT in Cambridge, Mass. Early on, she experimented with relationships between sound and space, and explored the physiological conditions of hearing. Despite her significant production and her substantial influence on a younger generation of artists, not least due to her long-term educational activities, she is a kind of “artists’ artist” and is in the European context still known by a mostly specialized public.

The exhibition „Intelligent Life“ shows, for the first time, a comprehensive overview with rarely seen archive material, photography, scores, and sound recordings from the artist. The presentation will focus on two comprehensive groups of works: the series „City Links(1967-1988) andIntelligent Life, which Maryanne Amacher had been intensively developing since the 1980s, both experimenting with the possibilities of new technologies. The exhibition follows the interdisciplinary and research-based practice of the artist and explores Maryanne Amacher’s influence on both the practice of contemporary art and music.

A project of the festival bonn hoeren 2014 from the Beethoven Foundation for Art and Culture Bonn in collaboration with the Bonner Kunstverein and the Berlin Artist Program of the DAAD, curated by Axel Wieder in collaboration with Bill Dietz, Micah Silver, and Robert The (Maryanne Amacher Archive, Kingston, NY). The exhibition Intelligent Life was first presented in 2012 at the daadgalerie in Berlin.

← Back
1/10

Maryanne Amacher, Installationsansicht, 2014, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy die Künstlerin. Photo: Simon Vogel

Maryanne Amacher: Intelligent Life

Die Ausstellung stellt das Werk der amerikanischen Komponistin und Künstlerin Maryanne Amacher (1938–2009) vor. Amacher studierte in den 1960er Jahren bei Karlheinz Stockhausen, arbeitete in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren mit John Cage und Merce Cunningham und war Fellow am Center für Advanced Visual Studies am MIT in Cambridge/MA.. Sie experimentierte früh mit der Beziehung von Klang und Raum und erforschte die physiologischen Bedingungen des Hörens. Trotz ihres großen Einflusses auf jüngere KünstlerInnen als eine Art „Künstler-Künstlerin“ ist Amacher bis heute in Europa nur einem kleinen Kreis bekannt.

Die Ausstellung „Intelligent Life“ zeigt einen umfassenden Überblick mit selten gezeigten Archivmaterialien, Fotografien, Partituren und Tonaufnahmen der Künstlerin. Im Zentrum der Präsentation stehen zwei umfangreiche Werkgruppen, die Serie „City-Links“ (1967–1988) und „Intelligent Life“, an der die Künstlerin seit den 1980er Jahren intensiv arbeitete, die beide mit den Möglichkeiten neuer Technologien experimentieren. Die Ausstellung verfolgt den interdisziplinären und forschenden Arbeitsansatz von Amacher und untersucht ihren Einfluss auf die zeitgenössische künstlerische und musikalische Praxis.

Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Axel Wieder (Arnolfini, Bristol) in Zusammenarbeit mit Bill Dietz, Micah Silver und Robert The (Maryanne Amacher Archive, Kingston, NY). Sie wurde erstmals 2012 in der daadgalerie in Berlin präsentiert.

Parallel findet am Freitag, dem 13. Juni, um 19 Uhr die Eröffnung der ebenfalls vom festival bonn hoeren 2014 organisierte Ausstellung Sites & Sounds (14.6.–3.8.2014) in der gkg bonn statt.