← Back
1/8

Jonathan Binet, installation view, 2015, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy of the artist and Gaudel de Stampa, Paris. Photo: Simon Vogel

Jonathan Binet

In his first institutional solo exhibition in Germany, the French artist Jonathan Binet (*1984 in St. Priest / F, lives and works in Paris) shows a series of new works that have been specially designed for the rooms of the Bonner Kunstverein.

Binet’s work focuses on painting. In the tradition of the “shaped canvas” (epitomized by Frank Stella’s work of the 1960’s), his canvases can take varying forms. Covered with one or more monochrome fabrics, they are sparingly painted: lines, circles or simple signs sprayed, drawn or brushed in a single gesture. Similar to a body’s skeleton and skin, the stretcher determines the shape of the canvas while the material applied to the stretcher dictates the qualities of its encasement. Of particular interest in Binet’s work is his perception of the painting as an “integrative object”. This process of integration — the inclusion into a larger whole — occurs during the work’s installation; Binet actively considers the walls and conditions of the surrounding exhibition space, initiating a working process based on its specifics. Everything taking place within the space shapes the exhibition. A canvas can bend and be embedded in a stair railing. A continuous line spray-painted over the surface of a wall and onto a canvas extends a painting into space. With this direct and equal treatment of both painting and place, the work becomes inseparable from its surroundings, existing only in this very moment and in its specific spatial arrangement.

Beyond this exploration of the work’s adaption to space, Binet’s new series of paintings conceived for the Bonner Kunstverein is based on similarly-shaped canvases, using the principle of repetition in order to create a visual game of echoing, disorientation and shifting reality. In doing so, he undertakes an investigation that one could relate to the linguistic reflections of Alain Robbe-Grillet (1922-2008) in his novel La reprise (Repetition, 2001). There, the author distinguishes the concept of repetition from the idea of reprisal (répetition and reprise): is an exact repetition at all possible?

Jonathan Binet has exhibited his work in Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen (2015), Centre d’Art Neuchâtel (2014), Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2012), and at the CAPC in Bordeaux (2012).
The exhibition Jonathan Binet is supported by the Bureau des arts plastiques / Institut français and the French Ministry of Culture and Communication.

← Back
1/8

Jonathan Binet, Installationsansicht, 2015, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy der Künstler und Gaudel de Stampa, Paris. Photo: Simon Vogel

Jonathan Binet

Mit seiner ersten institutionellen Einzelausstellung in Deutschland zeigt der französische Künstler Jonathan Binet (*1984 in St. Priest/F, lebt und arbeitet in Paris) eine Reihe von neuen Arbeiten, die speziell für die Räume des Bonner Kunstvereins konzipiert wurden.

Das Werk von Binet konzentriert sich auf die Malerei. In der Tradition des „Shaped Canvas“ stehend (ab 1960 durch Frank Stellas Arbeit geprägt), können seine Leinwände unterschiedliche Gestalt annehmen. Mit einem oder mehreren monochromen Stoffen bespannt, werden sie äußerst sparsam bemalt; es können Linien, Kreise oder einfache Zeichen sein, die Binet mit einer Geste auf die Oberfläche sprüht, zeichnet oder pinselt. Wie das Knochengerüst und die Haut eines Körpers, bestimmen der Keilrahmen die Form der Leinwand und der Stoff die Qualität der Umhüllung. Das Besondere in seinem Werk liegt in der Wahrnehmung der Malerei als „integratives Objekt“. Der Prozess der Integration – die Einbeziehung in ein größeres Ganzes – findet bei der Installation im Raum statt. Binet behandelt die Wand und die Gegebenheiten des Ausstellungsortes als Komponenten seiner Malerei. Aus den Rahmenbedingungen des Raumes heraus initiiert er einen Arbeitsprozess, während dessen alles, was dort stattfindet, die Ausstellung bildet. Seine Leinwände können sich verbiegen und in einem Treppengeländer eingebettet werden. Sie können auch durch das Sprühen einer durchgehenden Linie auf die Wand- und Stoffläche in den Raum übergehen. Mit dieser direkten und gleichwertigen Behandlung sowohl der Malerei als auch des Ortes wird das Werk untrennbar vom Raum und existiert als solches nur in genau diesem Moment und dieser Verortung.

Die neue Serie von Malereien, die Binet für die Räume des Bonner Kunstvereins konzipiert hat, basiert auf Leinwänden der gleichen Form. Über die Anpassung der Arbeit an den Raum hinaus nutzt er das Prinzip der Wiederholung, um ein visuelles Spiel von Echos, Verwirrungen und Verschiebungen der Realität entstehen zu lassen. Somit unternimmt er eine Untersuchung, die man auf die sprachlichen Überlegungen von Alain Robbe-Grillet (1922-2008) in seinem Buch La reprise (Die Wiederholung, 2001) beziehen könnte. Darin unterscheidet der Autor die Idee der Wiederholung von der Wiederaufnahme (répetition und reprise): ist eine genaue Wiederholung überhaupt möglich?

Jonathan Binet hat unter anderem in der Kunsthalle Sankt Gallen (2015), Centre d’Art Neuchâtel (2014), Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2012), und im CAPC in Bordeaux (2012) ausgestellt.

Die Ausstellung Jonathan Binet wird mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Bureau des arts plastiques des Institut français und des französischen Ministeriums für Kultur und Kommunikation realisiert.