← Back
1/9

Phung-Tien Phan, Installation view, 2016, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Simon Vogel

Peter Mertes Stipendium 2015: Phung-Tien Phan, Studio for Propositional Cinema

Bonner Kunstverein is pleased to announce two new solo exhibitions by Phung-Tien Phan and Studio for Propositional Cinema, recipients of the 2015 Peter Mertes Stipendium.

Phung-Tien Phan presents a series of 8 sculptures based upon traditional gravesites in Vietnam. Clad with ceramic tiles, Phan’s tiered structures not only reference ancient Vietnamese tombs but also reflect modern Western architecture and urban planning. They are accompanied by a new film that employs references to popular culture to humorously pose questions about issues including creativity, privilege, and consumption.

Studio for Propositional Cinema exhibits the off-set printing plates for ‘Scenes at an Inauguration’, a new play based upon the Studio’s 2013 inaugural performance at Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf in 2013. Written in collaboration with the artist Keren Cytter, the text is a layered fiction derived from scripted and improvised dialogue spoken by both official and unofficial participants at the event.

The exhibitions are generously supported by the Peter Mertes Wine Company with additional support from the Embassy of Canada, Berlin (Botschaft von Kanada) and Zimmermann, Cologne. They are accompanied by a new publication produced in collaboration with Strzelecki Books, Cologne.

Established in 1985, the Peter Mertes Stipendium is one of the most renowned opportunities for young artists in North Rhine-Westphalia region. Previous recipients include Carsten Höller (1995), Gregor Schneider (1996), Monika Baer (1998), Matti Braun (1999), Thea Djordjadze, Friedrich Kunath (both 2001), Gert and Uwe Tobias (2004) and Gerda Scheepers (2005). The current recipients, Israel Aten (b. 1986, Detroit) and Katharina Monka (b. 1986, Wunstorf) will have exhibitions at the Kunstverein in July 2017.

Phung-Tien Phan and Studio for Propositional Cinema were selected by a Jury comprising Prof. Anne-Marie Bonnet (University of Bonn and Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees, Bonner Kunstverein), Alexandra Bircken (artist), Michelle Cotton (Director, Bonner Kunstverein) and Ben Kaufmann (Director, Neuer Aachener Kunstverein), from a shortlist of 34 nominations. The two artists each received a total of €6,000 over the course of one year.

Phung-Tien Phan (b. 1983, Essen) studied at Folkwang University of the Arts, Essen and Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Her work has been exhibited at Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris, Kunsthalle Düsseldorf and Museum Folkwang, Essen. She lives and works in Essen where since 2014, as a member of the artist group New Bretagne, she has run Belle Air’s exhibition programme.

Studio for Propositional Cinema (founded 2013, Düsseldorf) are an anonymous collective based in Düsseldorf. Their recent exhibition projects include ‘We Are a Parasite on the Institution of Cinema, An Institution of Parasite: 1st Studio for Propositional Cinema Film Festival’ at Mumok, Vienna, and ‘Exhibition’, a collaboration with Gaylen Gerber at Kunsthaus Bregenz.

← Back
1/9

Phung-Tien Phan, Installationsansicht, 2016, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy die Künstlerin. Photo: Simon Vogel

Peter Mertes Stipendium 2015: Phung-Tien Phan, Studio for Propositional Cinema

Der Bonner Kunstverein freut sich, zwei neue Einzelausstellungen von Phung-Tien Phan und Studio for Propositional Cinema, den Stipendiaten des Peter Mertes Stipendiums 2015, anzukündigen.

Phung-Tien Phan präsentiert eine Reihe von 8 Skulpturen, die auf dem Vorbild traditoneller Grabstätten in Vietnam basieren. Mit Keramikfliesen verkleidet, reflektieren die geschichteten Strukturen nicht allein die Bauweise alter vietnamesicher Gräber, sondern gleichzeitig auch moderne westliche Architektur und Stadtplanung. Daneben zeigt Phung-Tien Phan einen neuen Film, der sich der Mittel der Populärkultur bedient, um humorvoll Fragen zum Beispiel nach Kreativität, Privilegien, Konsum zu stellen.

Studio for Propositional Cinema stellt die Offset-Druckplatten für “Scenes at an Inauguration” aus, ein neues Stück, das auf der Gründungsperformance 2013 des Studio for Propositional Cinema im Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf, basiert. Der Text, gemeinsam mit der Künstlerin Keren Cytter entwickelt, ist eine vielschichtige Fiktion, entstanden aus teils geschriebenen, teils improvisierten Dialogen von offiziellen und inoffiziellen Teilnehmern des Events.

Die Ausstellungen werden großzügig gefördert von der Peter Mertes Weinkellerei mit Unterstützung der Botschaft von Kanada in Berlin und der Druckerei Zimmermann, Köln. Sie werden von einer neuen Publikation begleitet, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Strzelecki Books, Köln, entstand.

1985 begründet, ist das Peter Mertes Stipendium eine der renommiertesten Auszeichnungen für junge Künstler in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Zu den vorangegangenen Stipendiaten zählen Carsten Höller (1995), Gregor Schneider (1996), Monika Baer (1998), Matti Braun (1999), Thea Djordjadze, Friedrich Kunath (beide 2001), Gert und Uwe Tobias (2004) und Gerda Scheepers (2005). Die Stipendiaten 2016, Israel Aten (geb. 1986, Detroit) und Katharina Monka (geb. 1986, Wunstorf), werden ihre Ausstellung nächsten Juli ausrichten.

Phung-Tien Phan und Studio for Propositional Cinema wurden von einer Jury, bestehend aus Prof. Anne-Marie Bonnet (Universität Bonn, 2. Vorsitzende des Bonner Kunstvereins), Alexandra Bircken (Künstlerin), Michelle Cotton (Direktorin, Bonner Kunstverein) und Ben Kaufmann (Direktor, Neuer Aachener Kunstvereins), aus einer Liste von 34 Kandidaten ausgewählt. Die beiden Künstler erhielten ein Jahr lang insgesamt je 6.000 € in monatlichen Raten.

Phung-Tien Phan (geb. 1983, Essen) studierte an der Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen, und der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Ihr Werk wurde in der Cité internationale des Arts, Paris, der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf und dem Museum Folkwang, Essen, ausgestellt, wo sie als Teil der Künstlergruppe New Bretagne seit 2014 das Ausstellungsprogramm des gemeinnützigen Ausstellungsraumes Belle Air gestaltet.

Studio for Propositional Cinema (gegründet 2013, Düsseldorf) ist ein anonymes Kollektiv mit Sitz in Düsseldorf. Zu den Ausstellungsprojekten in jüngster Zeit gehörten ‚We Are a Parasite on the Institution of Cinema, An Institution of Parasite: 1st Studio for Propositional Cinema Film Festival‘ im Museum moderner Kunst (mumok), Wien, und ‚Exhibition‘, in Zusammenarbeit mit Gaylen Gerber im Kunsthaus Bregenz.