← Back
1/5

Raphaela Vogel, installation view, 2015, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy of the artist and BQ, Berlin. Photo: Simon Vogel

Raphaela und der große Kunstverein

Raphaela Vogel

Raphaela Vogel (*1988 in Nuremberg, lives and works in Amsterdam) finished her studies at the Städelschule in Frankfurt a. M. in 2014. The invitation by the Kunstverein constitutes her first major solo exhibition. Her work is located in the meeting of sculpture, video installation and performance and is characterized by an acute study of the relationship of the body to space, closely linked with her utilization of digital technologies (often including, for example: projectors, scanners, action cameras, and drones). The videos, which play a central role in her work, consist of filmed actions (mostly featuring Vogel herself), documentations of her own installations and collages from her archive of images. These videos then become part of her sculptural constructions where dimensional space, decor and the corporeal merge into an organically woven structure. She treats the projectors and the other technical equipment as active protagonists: for example, by removing their casings or by suspending them in unexpected ways, thus revealing their fragility and somatic character. Ultimately, she creates a hybrid form in which her relationship to space, object, technology and machine is displayed in a dynamic field of motion, from the process of its development to the self-reflective treatment of her own work.

For her exhibition at the Bonner Kunstverein, Raphaela Vogel has created a new video installation that expands into the exhibition space like the skeleton of a dinosaur. Into a structure of metal rods she has placed canvases crafted from an array of materials. Projected videos combine rhythmic sequences of recent and older recordings, resulting in a non-linear narrative in which the viewer moves back and forth through time and space. Other works deal with the exploration of hybrid forms between animal, human and machine, letting us plunged in the exhibition Raphaela und der grosse Kunstverein like in a futuristic fairy tale.

Raphaela Vogel has exhibited her work in group exhibitions at Kunstverein Wiesbaden (2015), MMK (2014), Frankfurt, and Neues Museum Nürnberg (2012). She was awarded the DeAteliers grant, Amsterdam 2014.

← Back
1/5

Raphaela Vogel, Installationsansicht, 2015, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy die Künstlerin und BQ, Berlin. Photo: Simon Vogel

Raphaela und der große Kunstverein

Raphaela Vogel

Raphaela Vogel (*1988 in Nürnberg, lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam), die 2014 ihr Studium an der Städelschule in Frankfurt a. M. abschloss, erhält mit dieser Einladung ihre erste große institutionelle Einzelausstellung. Ihre Arbeit ist im Spannungsfeld zwischen Skulptur, Videoinstallation und Performance angesiedelt. Sie zeichnet sich durch eine intensive Untersuchung der Beziehung vom Körper zum Raum aus, die in enger Verbindung mit einer eigenen Anwendung der digitalen Technologien (wie z.B. Beamer, Scanner, Drohnen, Action-Camera) steht. Die Videos, die in ihren Arbeiten eine zentrale Position einnehmen, stellen sich aus gefilmten Aktionen, in welchen meist Vogel selbst als handelnde Figur auftritt, aus Dokumentationen ihrer eigenen Installationen sowie aus Collagen ihres Bilderfundus zusammen. Sie werden dann in ihre skulpturalen Konstruktionen einbezogen, in denen Raum, Raumdekor und das Körperliche zu einer organisch verwebten Struktur verschmelzen. Dabei behandelt sie die Beamer und andere technische Projektions-Geräte als aktive Protagonisten, die z. B. durch das Entfernen ihrer Gehäuse oder durch eine unerwartete Hängung ihre Fragilität und somit einen quasi lebendigen Charakter offenbaren. Schließlich schafft sie eine hybride Gestalt, in welcher ihr Verhältnis zu Raum, Objekt und Technik, vom Entstehungsprozess bis hin zur selbstreflexiven Behandlung ihrer eigenen Arbeit, in einem dynamischen Bewegungsfeld gefangen wird.

Für ihre Ausstellung im Bonner Kunstverein hat Raphaela Vogel eine neue Videoinstallation konzipiert, die sich wie das Gerippe eines Dinosauriers im Raum ausbreitet. In eine Struktur aus Metallstangen hat sie Leinwände aus verschiedenen Materialien eingebaut. Aus den projizierten Videos, die rhythmische Sequenzen von älteren und neuen Aufnahmen kombinieren, entsteht eine nicht-lineare Narration, in welcher man sich durch Zeit und Raum hin und her bewegt. Weitere Arbeiten greifen die Thematik der Hybridform zwischen Tier, Mensch und Maschine auf und lassen uns in die Ausstellung Raphaela und der große Kunstverein eintauchen wie in ein futuristisches Märchen.

Raphaela Vogel hat bei Gruppenausstellungen im Kunstverein Wiesbaden (2015), MMK (2014), Frankfurt, und Neues Museum Nürnberg (2012) ausgestellt. Sie ist Preisträgerin des DeAteliers Stipendiums, Amsterdam 2014.