← Back
1/7

Nicolas Party and Serge Vuille, In C, 2014, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Simon Vogel

Three Elephant’s Days: Nicolas Party, Serge Vuille

Installed in Summer 2013 on the forecourt of the Bonner Kunstverein, Nicolas Partys (*1980, lives in Brussels) sculpture in the form of a table will be the centre a final performance in three parts. The table, covered with colorful almond-shaped patterns, measures 6-meters in diameter and is surrounded with 28 stools, which are each provided with the design of an elephant. Elephants are examples of family and a sense of community, refer to the function of the Kunstverein to cultivate an “art community”. In addition, the sculpture functions as a place of sojourn or a stage due to ist unusual size.

Concluding the one year long installation of the work Party, together with the musician Serge Vuille (*1983, lives in London), designed a multi-part series of performances in which visual art, performance and music are led together to explore the diverse functions of the table in a playful manner. Through the participation of children, musicians and other guests, this musical-performative Festival links both the social and artistic  aspects oft he sculpture.

Party recently exhibited at the Swiss Institute New York in 2012 and at the Folkwang Museum Essen in 2013.

Vuille teaches at the Royal College of Music, London, and performs regularly (among others) with the BBC Orchestra, London, or the Collegium Novum Zurich. As an experimental musician he plays with the Baroque Timpani in Orchestra of Enlightenment and Music or in the band of the artist Martin Creed. Vuille composed mainly music for specific occasions and places.

 

Thursday, August 21, 2014 19:00

MUSIC PERFORMANCE

Concert In C by Terry Riley headed by Serge Vuille

1964 Terry Riley composed the piece „In C“, which is one of the first pieces of minimal music. Unlike a classical orchestra any number of non-specific musicians is provided here. The score consists of 53 simple phrases that are independently started and repeated by the musicians. The result is a structure, a community consisting of individuals who listen to each other and have to react. „In C“ is therefore not only an important work of recent music history, but can also refer to the work of Nicolas Party. His table is used as a concert venue. Various musicians, including vocalists, strings, winds will perform the piece. The musicians are professionals, music students and lay people from Bonn and the surrounding area. They form an ensemble that thrives on the enthusiasm for new music and especially the joy of making music.

 

Friday, August 22, 2014

DINNER FOR 28 ELEPHANTS

Meeting between the Kunstvereine Bonn and Cologne

With a dinner many levels of social interaction can be addressed from any motivation. Nicolas Party will serve 28 invited guests of the Kunstvereine from Bonn and Cologne plates, decorated with edible elements. Serge Vuille accompanies the dinner with his especially for the occasion composed piece „Boléro en Do“from the middle of the table. This is a self-interpretation of the piece „Bolero“ (1928) by Maurice Ravel. Based on the understanding of music, which is raised in Terry Riley’s „In C“, Vuille reaches an unusual link, a new creation, which is characterized by deconstruction and reaction.

 

Saturday, August 23, 2014

BABY GREENS MAKE MUSIC

Children’s program with Nicolas Party and Serge Vuille

Curiosity, openness and imagination are distinct in children. When they begin to discover and understand music, it adds even more to those characteristics. Schoolchildren of Nordschule Bonn tinker together with Nicolas Party and Serge Vuille to create musical instruments out of vegetables and thus perform sonic experiments.

← Back
1/7

Nicolas Party und Serge Vuille, In C, 2014, Bonner Kunstverein, Courtesy die Künstler. Photo: Simon Vogel

Three Elephant’s Days: Nicolas Party, Serge Vuille

Im Sommer 2013 auf dem Vorplatz des Bonner Kunstverein installiert, wird an der Skulptur des Künstlers Nicolas Party (*1980, lebt in Brüssel) eine finale Performance in drei Teilen durchgeführt: ein runder, mit bunten mandelförmigen Mustern übersehener Tisch, der 6 Meter Durchmesser misst, dazu 28 Hocker, die jeweils mit dem Motiv eines Elefanten versehen sind. Die Elefanten, die exemplarisch für Familie und Gemeinsinn stehen, verweisen auf die Funktion des Kunstvereins, eine „Kunstgemeinschaft“ zu pflegen. Zusätzlich dient die Skulptur in ihrer ungewöhnlichen Größe als Ort des Verweilens oder Bühne.

Zum Abschluss des einjährigen Bestehens der Arbeit hat Party zusammen mit dem Musiker Serge Vuille (*1983, lebt in London) eine mehrteilige Performancereihe konzipiert, in welcher bildende Kunst, Performance und Musik zusammengeführt und die facettenreichen Funktionen des Tisches spielerisch ausgelotet werden. Durch die Partizipation von Kindern, Musikern und weiteren Gästen werden die sozialen Aspekte der Skulptur mit den künstlerischen in diesem musikalisch-performatives Festspiel verknüpft.

Die Malerei von Party reicht von kleinen Aquarellen bis hin zu raumgreifenden Installationen, die Stillleben oder Tier-Motive in bunter und naiver Ästhetik abbilden. Die lebhaften Farben, die Abflachungseffekte und die einfachen Formen der Gegenstände nehmen uns mit in eine schillernde und spielerische Welt. Nicht ohne Ironie, Abstand und Vergnügen integriert Party den Besucher, wie auch in den „Three Elephant’s Days“, als Teil einer Szenografie.

Zuletzt stellte er im Swiss Institut New York 2012 und im Museum Folkwang 2013 aus.

Vuille lehrt am Royal College of Music, London, und tritt regelmäßig u.a. mit dem BBC Orchestra, London, oder dem Collegium Novum, Zürich, auf. Als experimenteller Musiker spielt er auch mit dem Barock Timpani im Orchestra of Enlightment and Music oder in der Band des Künstlers Martin Creed. Vuille komponiert hauptsächlich Musikstücke für spezifische Gelegenheiten und Orte

 

Donnerstag, 21. August 2014, 19 Uhr

MUSIKPERFORMANCE

Konzert „In C“ von Terry Riley unter der Leitung von Serge Vuille

1964 komponierte Terry Riley das Stück „In C“, welches zu den ersten Stücken der Minimalmusik gehört. Anders als bei einem klassischen Orchester ist dabei eine beliebige Zahl unspezifischer Musiker vorgesehen. Die Partitur besteht aus 53 einfachen Phrasen, die eigenständig von den Musikern begonnen und repetiert werden. Es ergibt sich ein Gefüge, eine Gemeinschaft, bestehend aus Einzelnen, die aufeinander hören und reagieren müssen. „In C“ ist daher nicht nur ein wichtiges Werk der neueren Musikgeschichte, sondern lässt sich auch auf das Werk Nicolas Partys beziehen. Sein Tisch wird als Konzertbühne genutzt. Verschiedenste Musiker, darunter Vokalisten, Streicher, Bläser, werden das Stück aufführen. Die Musiker sind Profis, Musikstudenten und Laien aus Bonn und der Umgebung. Sie bilden ein einmaliges Ensemble, das von der Begeisterung für die Neue Musik und vor allem der Freude am Musizieren lebt.

Serge Vuille (*1983, lebt in London), der das Konzert dirigieren wird, ist ein junger Perkussionist und Komponist aus der Schweiz und Dozent am Royal Collage of Music in London.

 

Freitag, 22. August 2014

DINNER FOR 28 ELEPHANTS

Begegnung des Bonner und des Kölnischen Kunstvereins

Mit einem gemeinsamen Abendessen können viele Ebenen der sozialen Interaktion aus jeglicher Motivation heraus angesprochen werden. 28 eingeladene Gäste des Bonner und des Kölnischen Kunstvereins wird Nicolas Party Teller, mit essbaren Elementen dekoriert, servieren. In der Mitte des Tisches begleitet Serge Vuille mit seinem eigens für diesen Anlass komponierten Stück „Boléro en Do“. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Eigeninterpretation des Stückes „Boléro“ (1928) von Maurice Ravel. Anhand des Musikverständnisses, welches in Terry Rileys „In C“ aufgeworfen wird, gelangt Vuille zu einer ungewöhnlichen Verknüpfung, einer Neuschöpfung, die sich durch Dekonstruktion und Reaktion auszeichnet.

 

Samstag, 23. August 2014

JUNGES GEMÜSE MACHT MUSIK

Kinderprogramm mit Nicolas Party und Serge Vuille

Neugier, Offenheit und Phantasie sind bei Kindern stark ausgeprägt. Wenn Kinder beginnen, Musik zu entdecken und zu verstehen, ist dies eine große Bereicherung. Schulkinder der Nordschule Bonn werden zusammen mit Nicolas Party und Serge Vuille Musikinstrumente aus Gemüse basteln und damit klangliche Experimente durchführen.