← Back

Temperatures V: Cecilia Pavón – My own Temporary Autonomous Zone

Temperatures is a cooperative year-long program of events including talks, readings, concerts, and performances expanding the digital space within the existing infrastructures of the three institutions.

The fifth event, My own Temporary Autonomous Zone, on Tuesday, 29 June at 7 pm, takes the form of a reading with poet and writer Cecilia Pavón  .

Cecilia Pavón will be reading a selection from her recent collection of short stories Little Joys published by semiotext(e) in 2021. Pavón’s narratives move between Berlin and Buenos Aires from the 1990s onwards where they set the pleasures of every-day life against the sneaking anxiety of economic crisis. The characters in Little Joys often live in and around art – they happen to be artists, writers, thinkers and curators – yet Pavón writes about their existence “unpoetically”. Seemingly mundane stories are recast by the complexity of the emotions of those that experience them, centring the intimate lives of Pavón’s figures against everything else.

Cecilia Pavón lives and works in Buenos Aires. Her publications include Un hotel con mi nombre (A Hotel With My Name), 27 poemas con nombres de persona (2010), the ebook Once Sur (2012), and the short stories Los sueños no tienen copyright (2010) and Pequeño recuento sobre mis faltas (2015). The poetry collections A Hotel With My Name (2015) and Licorice Candies (2016) have been translated into English.

The reading will be in English; it is accessible for free without registration via the following link: us02web.zoom.us/j/82276764306

← Back

Temperatures V: Cecilia Pavón – My own Temporary Autonomous Zone

Temperatures ist ein kooperatives einjähriges Veranstaltungsprogramm mit Vorträgen, Lesungen, Konzerten und Performances, das den digitalen Raum innerhalb der bestehenden Infrastrukturen innerhalb der drei Institutionen erweitert.

Die fünfte Veranstaltung, My own Temporary Autonomous Zone, am Dienstag, den 29. Juni um 19 Uhr, findet in Form einer Lesung mit der Dichterin und Autorin Cecilia Pavón statt.

Cecilia Pavón wird aus ihrer aktuellen Sammlung von Kurzgeschichten „Little Joys“ lesen, die 2021 bei semiotext(e) erschienen ist. Pavóns Erzählungen bewegen sich seit den 1990er Jahren zwischen den Handlungsräumen Berlin und Buenos Aires, in denen sich die Freuden des Alltagslebens der, im Hintergrund heranschleichenden, Wirtschaftskrise gegenübergestellt sehen. Die Figuren in „Little Joys” leben oft in und um die Kunst herum, sind Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen oder Kuratori*innen, Pavón jedoch beschreibt deren Existenz nahezu ‘unpoetisch’. Scheinbar alltägliche Geschehnisse werden durch die Komplexität der Emotionen jener, die diese fühlen, wahrgenommen, wobei vor allem intime, private Aspekte in den Leben von Pavóns Figuren im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Cecilia Pavón lebt und arbeitet in Buenos Aires. Zu ihren Veröffentlichungen zählen Un hotel con mi nombre (A Hotel With My Name)27 poemas con nombres de persona (2010), das E-book Once Sur (2012) und die Kurzgeschichten Los sueños no tienen copyright (2010) und Pequeño recuento sobre mis faltas (2015). Die Gedichtsammlungen A Hotel With My Name (2015) und Licorice Candies (2016) sind auf Englisch übersetzt.

Die Lesung ist in englischer Sprache, die Teilnahme ist kostenlos und ohne Voranmeldung möglich. Teilnahme-Login: us02web.zoom.us/j/82276764306